Body filler too thick for skim coat

.HELP. I have Eastwoods premium contour body filler and I have to do a whole car (66 Mustang) panel by panel. By the numbers. The problem is the stuff is so thick, I cant get a smooth skim coat. I have tried varying amounts of hardener (within reason) and that just affects the “kick”. How do I THIN this to skim coat ?

Just FYI - my first shot is on the trunk lid. Sanded to bare metal. Then, Eastwood Fast etch to prevent any flash rust and take care of any pits (didn’t see any). Cleaned the next day with pre. Mixed body putty (and I am NOT a newbie at Bondo and such) and this stuff is just so dang thick …I want a skim coat…but wound up with a sanding project …I will say …it does sand nice when worked but geeze…doing the whole car like that I will look like the hulk. I had to use 80 grit on a sander just to break the top coat…then guide coat then hand sand with long block

Your pic didn’t come through but my experience with Eastwood was the same as yours. I switched and only use evercoat now. Their stuff is great to use.

1 Like