First spraying - SUCCESS!

*** First time spraying with new setup ***
This is my first time spraying (eastwood epoxy primer) with my new compressor and 3M accuspray HVLP gun…not bad for first time and youtube educated////LOL

Used 1.8 tip on the Accuspray and used 10% reducer. Came out awesome and thank god that system lets you spray at any angle because inside the trunk is a BEAST

5 Likes

@arcorob… AWESOME!!! Looks killer :+1:t3:

1 Like

Nice job, what color are planning on?

1 Like

Cobalt Blue…and I will do the white stripes…

This color blue

3 Likes

Here is the GT stripes I mean

3 Likes

Spraying 2k primer or bc/cc even single stage so so much more forgiving and easier to spray than lets say Rustoleum. I just sprayed a kirker primer perfect prime today laid down so smooth and clean up was a breeze. Rustoleum always fights back and gets stuck in the gun somewhere.

3 Likes

Very nice, just a little orange peel on the flat part ther. Might get a little closer or for large areas like trunks slow it down a little, maybe a slow reducer to help it flow a little better.

2 Likes

Hey Brian,

Actually, no orange peel at all…just noticed, its an effect of the photo (digitized). The trunk lid is dead flat and inside the trunk, any texture was from the trunk itself. Trust, me I checked. :slight_smile:

Now, on the trunk lid, I did wind up with about 10 pieces of dust. Doesn’t matter in the primer and the location but I will have to be super careful when it comes to the basecoat/clearcoat stage. I plan on not only cleaning the garage but actually making a temp booth. I am sure I will still get some dust but even spray booths will get that occasionally …I am just damn glad I did my first spray and handled it pretty well.

1 Like

Looks great! How do you like that spray gun? How many uses do you get out of it? Thinking of getting one to test out soon.

3 Likes