New from Canton Ohio

Hi My name is Terry and I’m 70 years old. I live in the USA, Canton, Ohio. I’ve been wrenching on and racing cars and motorcycles for over 50 years, (still drag racing) . Just in the last couple I’ve gotten interested in body work and painting. I’ve been watching Tony on you tube for about 6 months or so, and I’ve learned a lot. I’ve tried my hand at painting and so far I’ve done some pretty decent work with cheap guns and not the best of conditions. But now I think I’m ready to invest in better tools. I think I’m ready to order an Atom gun, but I’m not sure which one. I’m leaning towards the X20 but not sure whether the LVLP or the HVLP I don’t plan on painting a whole car but I do get into painting hoods fenders bumpers and such. I’m thinking the LVLP would be better for clear coat, and for now I could still use my cheaper guns for base. So Tony or anyone else what do you think.

I own both the X21 and X27 in LVLP only for the reduced overspray and so I don’t put a huge load on my air compressor.

If you have a very large 80 gallon air compressor with high cfm then the HVLP will be the better all around gun but if it is a smaller air compressor you will be able to cheat a bit with the LVLP, even though you mentioned you won’t be spraying a whole car it is always good to know you have an air compressor that exceeds what the gun needs.

You can technically spray base coat or clear coat with both LVLP or HVLP, LVLP guns tend to put out material a tiny bit slower so you might need to move your hand a bit slower as well to put down clear coat.

Don’t think if a gun is LVLP it will never be able to spray base coat and if it is HVLP it won’t be able to spray clear, one might be slightly better for the job than the other but both will lay down a really good coat.