Virgin newbie hoping to become a custom car guy

Hey everyone, I’m Ray I’m an illustrator that has longed to be a custom car painter. I actually wanted to be a pinup artist, I learned about pinups after high school and the desire lead me to custom airbrushing. I’ve done tee shirts helmets but neve a car or bike mainly because I didn’t know where to begin. So I put off getting into this field for years until I stumbled across Tony’s YouTube videos at just the right time. At the same time I found his channel, I received an offer to apprentice at a local body shop. I was told I’d learn pretty much everything I’d need to know. Well it’s been two weeks and the most I’ve done is add some Raptor truck liner to a Jeep. I’ve learned how to pull apart the interior of cars and put em back together. I’m anticipating the day I get to really paint.
I’ve been doing some home custom paints, all I have is a small Iwata airbrush no spray guns yet. I’m hoping to build my supplies and get all I need to start doing custom paint from home. I’m looking forward to learning much here and sharing my progress as I get better.
Thanks Tony for giving me the courage to start my new career. I’m also a stroke survivor and want to make the most of my time left on this Rock to make people’s dream rides a bit more special.
R

@Raysee, Welcome to the PUB. There are a lot of knowledgeable people on this forum to answer questions and provide tips and tricks. @HankScott posted some pictures and a link to more of his work… Check him out, he probably has some good info for ya.

Looking forward to seeing some of your art work.

Kent aka “Genesis”

Thanks “Genesis”, I’ll check Hanks work, I saw on one of the boards he has some good custom connections. Good looking out my friend. I’ll try and post some of my work soon.
Raysee